Engaging Adolescents

I was asked to give a lecture to the Royal College of GPs on Tuesday – they asked for a talk on management of asthma in adolescents.  Something I am hardly an expert in, but as is always the case, preparing these talks became a great learning experience for me!  There isn’t currently an adolescent asthma clinic in NW, but we are looking at starting a transition clinic.  We currently do a transition clinic for the CF kids – I really enjoy those clinics, getting to know the kids, few management decisions to make, just getting their trust, and getting to know them.One way I use it to give out my XBox Live username – I’m just a big kid really, and I still unwind over a game or two of an evening – so the kids can befriend me over XBL.  I’ve played  couple of games of Halo with a couple of them, and I’ve had messages from them about their symptoms!

Engaging adolescent patients is the same as engaging anyone – you just need to find the right interface.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging Along

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

