Confucius Says….

By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.

The Dundee medical curriculum is centred around the concept of reflection, but I think it is not well understood.  We all write up our reflections in hollow platitudes, the same template repeated again and again.  But do we really look critically at what we have done on a daily basis?  Do we think about how to improve ourselves?  How to change how we learn, how we teach, how we function?

I decided this year to start a reflective diary, in the form of an online blog.  It’s locked, no-one else can read it.  I find it very useful – every day I write what is happening in my life, both personal and work related, and how I feel about what has happened that day.  It is sometimes hard to write, and sometimes hard to find the time to write, but when I do I find it concentrates my mind to what I have done, what I got right, what I got wrong, how to improve things next time.

I spoke to the second years at the beginning of their block and suggested they start a reflective blog.  One at least has, and I’ve read a wee bit.  I follow it with interest, as he begins to use the tool in different ways.  I can strongly recommend to anyone to start a reflective learning blog; it has helped me a great deal in just the past few months.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging Along, Postgraduate Education, Undergraduate Teaching

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

