Extra Tuition

Thanks to the 5 of you who turned up for the extra ITA session today at 2 PM.  I enjoyed having the opportunity to discuss the course, and specific points of interest with you, and I was pleased to be able to answer your questions that had come up during the lectures this week.  It was particularly encouraging to hear that you like the assessment, as it informs you regarding progress, which is exactly what I had hoped for.

To recap what we went over

  • Types 1 and 2 respiratory failure
  • Hypoxic drive
  • Dead space and ventilation
  • Why I don’t like pink puffers and blue bloaters
  • Respiratory cachexia
  • The oxygen dissociation curve, and what shifts it right and left
  • The utility of oxygen saturation probes, and when they’re not the right tool for the job
  • Why unopposed salbutamol is a bad idea in asthma
  • Starling’s Law of the Capillaries
  • Why a normal pCO2 is a bad sign in acute asthma exacerbation

I think there was more, but it’s all becoming a bit of a blur.  I did promise a summary of the Bohr Shift, and I will put one up, once I get my own head around it!  And I still think you don’t really need to know about the differential effects of M1, M2,and M3 receptors at the pre-synaptic junction: certainly not core knowledge.

Do have a look at the V/Q Mismatching videos from last month though – I think they explain well why oxygen is bad for people with chronic type 2 respiratory failure.

And finally – thanks again for coming along to the session.  If you want more, you only have to ask!

DundeeChest

Explore posts in the same categories: Phase 2, Undergraduate Teaching

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Extra Tuition”

  1. Sarah Macpherson Says:

    Thanks a lot for answering all my questions today in ITA. It was really helpful and much appreciated.
    Sarah Macpherson

  2. LDH Says:

    I meant to make the ITA session but had a meeting at work. I would very much like to attend in future so please keep us posted with any further sessions 🙂


Leave a Reply

